My Wonderful Weekend in South Dakota

Published July 4, 2007 by missharleyquinn

rushmore.jpg

The Woods around Mount Rushmore

I’ve driven through South Dakota many times, but have never stopped to see the sites.  This weekend the imps, grandparents, and I made a jaunt to the glorious western part of the state and needless to say I’m in love.  This is one of many pictures taken in the area about Mount Rushmore, strangely enough my kids and I were more interested in the local flora and fauna than the national monument…but who wouldn’t be with such glorious views as this?  I could so easily imagine seeing Native Americans walking as silent as breath through these woods, slipping between trees.  There is no question for me why they saw these lands as sacred…I was and am in absolute awe.

Leave a Reply

