Super Cucumbers

Published August 27, 2007 by missharleyquinn

harvest2.jpg

This spring I planted cucumber seeds and until about an hour ago, was firmly convinced that the plants weren’t going to blossom this year.  One might wonder how these gigantic vegetables hid from me all this time, well I’m blaming it on the pumpkin vines…which have literally taken over the garden bed.  While my daughter and I were checking out said pumpkins we found these lovelies lurking under the collassal vine work of our soon to be orange friends.  I love nature’s little and not so little surprises.  My daughter named the largest one Ernie.  🙂

4 comments on “Super Cucumbers

  • When my kids were small I so enjoyed growing things. I do miss that a bit with Peter and had planned to do pots on the deck. Then he managed to cover it with different creatures during the summer. We had sweetcorn one year and that was really fun.

  • There’s something so natural and peaceful about gardeing and then of course the magic of harvest. I hope you get the chance to plant next spring. 🙂

  • Saw this photo and had to laugh, my company brought in cucumbers from my yard. An amazing feet as I have no garden, seems they were chasing a toad and found them coming out of the back of my compost pile. Somethings thrive in the most adverse of conditions….

  • It’s like “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” or all the lovely weeds that push it’s way through cement cracks to remind us that life always finds a way. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

