Super Cucumbers Pickled

Published August 28, 2007 by missharleyquinn

pickles.jpg

Ernie and his family have been pickled!  I’ve got so many canned goods from the bounty of my yard I feel like some sort of pioneer.  I found a recipe for dill pickles on line, and since my printer has no ink I hand wrote it down and then completely forgot to bookmark the site.  So, if this is your recipe, please let me know so I can give credit where credit is due.

Dill Pickles

8 lbs. cucumbers

4 c. white vinegar

12 c. water

2/3 c. pickling salt

16 gloves of garlic, halved and peeled

8 sprigs of dill

~Wash cucumbers, put in ice and cold water for at least 2 hours…no more than 8.

~Combine vinegar, water, and pickling salt.  Bring to a rapid boil.

~In each jar place 2 cloves of garlic, a sprinkling of dill, and cucumbers to fill.  Add 2 more garlic cloves and sprinkle with dill again.  Fill jars with hot brine.

~Process jars and voila you have dill pickles.  🙂

Leave a Reply

