When I’m An Old Lady

Published November 9, 2007 by missharleyquinn

In honor of the absent Sorrow, a Friday Poem (Tonya emailed it to me and I love it!)

When I’m an old lady, I’ll live with each kid,
And bring so much happiness…just as they did.
I want to pay back all the joy they’ve provided.
Returning each deed! Oh, they’ll be so excited!
(When I’m an old lady and live with my kids)

I’ll write on the wall with reds, whites and blues,
And I’ll bounce on the furniture…wearing my shoes.
I’ll drink from the carton and then leave it out.
I’ll stuff all the toilets and oh, how they’ll shout!
(When I’m an old lady and live with my kids)

When they’re on the phone and just out of reach,
I’ll get into things like sugar and bleach.
Oh, they’ll snap their fingers and then shake their head,
(When I’m an old lady and live with my kids)

When they cook dinner and call me to eat,
I’ll not eat my green beans or salad or meat,
I’ll gag on my okra, spill milk o n the table,
And when they get angry…I’ll run…if I’m able!
(When I’m an old lady and live with my kids)

I’ll sit close to the TV, through the channels I’ll click,
I’ll cross both eyes just to see if they stick.
I’ll take off my socks and throw one away,
And play in the mud ’til the end of the day!
(When I’m an old lady and live with my kids)

And later in bed, I’ll lay back and sigh,
I’ll thank God in prayer and then close my eyes.
My kids will look down with a smile slowly creeping,
And say with a groan, “She’s so sweet when she’s sleeping!”
God Bless All Moms and Grandmas Everywhere! ?

2 comments on “When I’m An Old Lady

  • This is such a lovely poem, I should print it out and put it on my wall. Good for my kids there are 4 of them. They’ll get a chance to breath freely when I move from one to the other. 🙂

    I have two and the part about the jumping on the couch is my dream…:)

  • Miss HQ! This is a riot! lets walk down their halls with our hands on the walls and leave our shoes in front of the door and roll our eyes with intellectual disdain oh what fun it will be! Thanks! This was just the bright spot I was missing! LOL missed ya hon!

    I really missed you and am so glad your back. *hugs* Let’s not forget to spill cherry Kool Aid in their cars! *l*

  • Leave a Reply

