Secret Stash Sewing

Published January 3, 2008 by missharleyquinn
witchhatsue.jpg
My daughter’s birthday is in a month and while she and her brother are at school, I’m putting together a quilt for her.  My family and I are deplorable about keeping secrets and rarely are there any surprises, so I hope I can pull this off.  I’m calling it ‘Witch Hat Sue’, as its a take off of ‘SunBonnet Sue’.  This is the first block…only 29 left!  This is also a way for me to use up scrips and scraps of left over fabric…my stash of fabric is large enough at this point to cloth a small American city and have matching accessories for all!  🙂
4 comments on “Secret Stash Sewing

  • Okay… a month! I know you can do it and I’m cheering you on! I love the block you’ve already made, it is very artistic. This quilt is going to be gorgeous! Love, Wardeh

    Thanks for the well wishes…You’re so fast and talented at your sewing, I’m hoping your well wishes lets some of that rub off on me! 🙂 I’ve got 8 blocks done…22 to go. Have a great weekend. *hugs*

  • OOOOOHHH! thats so cute! How big does this have to be? a snuggle size or a twin? GO GIRL! I guess we will know where you are if we don’t see you around for a while!
    Best of luck!
    shhhhhhhhhh! don’t tell!

    Skyler sleeps like clock hands, so she has a full size bed…big quilt! *l* I think I’ll be able to get it done and still blog about here and there. I didn’t think I was going to see you for a week or so…glad you peeked in, I was missing you. 🙂 Have fun this weekend. *hugs*

  • That looks like fun. It is going to be beautiful too. We all want a picture when you get it done! I just went through a big purge of all my kids baby clothes and kept a bunch of well loved items to cut up and make into a quilt one day. I may just have to pay someone else to do it, as with 4 I’d be sewing for years at my pace! 🙂
    Many needles and threads to you, my dear!

    Last year I saw the best baby clothing quilt ever…the base of the quilt is a grass hill and blue sky, strung across is a ‘laundry line’ and ‘hanging’ from it are baby cloths, as if they were just laundered, they’re treated like applique. I loved the idea, because why would you want to cut up some of those lovely little outfits? My Imps’ baby clothing is all packed up, just waiting for use with future generations. 🙂 So, no memory quilt like that for them. I’ll definitely post the finished quilt.

  • Funny you write that it is based off of Sunbonnet Sue, because I immediately brought to mind images of our old Holly Hobby bedspreads. If you need some extra hands with a square or two just mail them on down. Looks like I will have the extra time after all! LOL Hugs girl! Skyler is going to love it.

    I really hope she does. It’s difficult not to work on it while shes at home and I have free time, but I really want this to be a surprise. Hey, how is your monster quilt coming along?

  • Leave a Reply

