Gooey Butter Cookies

Published January 9, 2008 by missharleyquinn

This is a real recipe (no tequila or popcorn!), I just made 3 dozen for the school bake sale this afternoon and frankly want to eat every last one of them myself!

1/2 cup butter

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

1 (8 ounce) pkg. cream cheese

1 (1 lb., 2.25 ounce) box of butterrecipe cake mix (I used yellow)

powdered sugar for dipping

Beat butter, vanilla, egg, and cream cheese until light and fluffy.  Mix in dry cake mix.  Chill for 30 minutes.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Roll into teaspoon size balls and coat in powdered sugar.

Bake 10-12 minutes (being high altitude I baked mine for 9 1/2 minutes)

Makes 3 -4 dozen

 

From “Keeping Good Company”, by Roxie Kelley and Friends

2 comments on “Gooey Butter Cookies

  • This looks like something my kids would inhale! Now all i have to do is find the energy! LOL thanks, I think I can smell them cooking from here!

    Have fun making them and eating them, when you get to it. *hugs*

  • Ooooo! They sound really good, really rich and really sugary! Yum! I’ll have to give them a try sometime, but I have to be honest with you, I don’t like using box mixes for anything, except jello. Sad commentary on me, I know, but I will give this one a try! Just ’cause it came from you! 🙂

    I too lean towards ‘from scratch’ recipes, but I was in a hurry and found the recipe in one of my cook books and went with it. For all its not completely home made aspects, the cookies are soooo good. I don’t think its a sad commentary on you that you avoid box mixes, I think its a great commitment on your part. I try to in as many aspects of cooking as I can, but sometimes things are so yummy, I can overlook the less healthy parts! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

