Turducken or Chuckey Anyone?

Published July 9, 2008 by missharleyquinn

I started reading “Gimp” last night and as is my practice, read the ending first.  I’m not certain why I feel that need, but its all a part of any reading I do…except of course murder mysteries…and I’m oddly pleased.  There are things in the world I haven’t a clue about, things that are perfectly normal to a large number of people and absolutely foreign to me…such as the Turducken or Chuckey.

“A Turducken is a dish consisting of a partially de-boned turkey stuffed with a de-boned duck, which itself is stuffed with a small de-boned chicken. The name is a portmanteau of those ingredients: turkey, duck, and chicken. The cavity of the chicken and the rest of the gaps are filled with, at the very least, a highly seasoned breadcrumb mixture or sausage meat, although some versions have a different stuffing for each bird.  Its also called a chuckey.”

~From Wikipedia

I suppose I’m not very imaginative, it never would have occurred to me to stuff a bird with  another bird and then for kicks stuff another one in there.  Part of me thinks the person who decided to stuff birds with birds had entirely too much time on their hands and obviously a treasure trove of available dead birds without bones…another part of me though applauds the creativity that asks, “Why just one bird?  And where could I stick more?”

To make your own Turducken, this site should help:

http://homecooking.about.com/od/turkeyrecipes/ss/turduckensbs.htm

One comment on “Turducken or Chuckey Anyone?

  • Leave a Reply

