Thummph

Published October 12, 2008 by missharleyquinn

In the wee hours of the morn, while darkness and a crap load of snow blanketed the town in which I reside, I was awoken by a ‘thummph’ upon the roof.  I was rather tired and my first inclination was to ignore said ‘thummph’ and snuggle deeper in my  toasty coverings. But, then I wondered ‘What might have made such a noise as that ‘thummph’?  A distant and not very logical part of my brain thought it might be a band of not so quiet ninjas landing on the roof bent on some sort of fiendish plot that involved my neighborhood…doubtful, I know, but at such sounds and hours hope springs eternal.  As it turns out, an extremely large limb partially fell on my house and now the kids say its just like living on Endor with the Ewoks.  I’m waiting for Scott the tree guy and his hand dandy cherry picker to come and remove said limb and assess the damage to my gutters and roof.  As for community spirit, my neighbors have spent a great deal of time staring at my house, drinking steaming beverages while motioning towards my house, and earlier… trying to pretend I wasn’t actually outside shoveling my sidewalk and drive way.  Maybe they’re worried that  ‘falling snow laden limb disorder’ (or FSLLD to those of us in the know) will rub off if they speak to me or come near my property.  Who knows?  As for me, I sit in the house, relaxing and waiting for my knight in a shining cherry picker to save the day or at least my roof!

 

Update:  Sir Scott did arrive and managed to retrieve the huge limb and many branches from the roof and sliced and diced enough to fill the entire yard with tree depris and 6 foot lengths of wood as far as the property line goes.  He had to leave a large amount on the roof, because its basically stuck there until the snow melts (which has been assured will happen by Friday).  After he left, I just wanted to cry…there’s so much wood and limbs, limbs that are 30+ inches in diameter, and crap everywhere and its just me…these last few months have been terribly heartbreaking for me in ways I can barely acknowledge or voice and now this…I know its not the end of the world and so many have it so much worse…but I’m tired…really, really tired and then I read a quote and feel like the biggest Obama geek on the planet:

In this country, justice can be won against the greatest of odds; hope can find its way back to the darkest of corners; and when we are told that we cannot bring about the change that we seek, we answer with one voice – yes, we can.

– Barack Obama, Raleigh, North Carolina, May 6, 2008

I will get through this, I will figure out how to fix this big, fat mess, and  I will be the  knight in shining armor I need…Yes, I can.

2 comments on “Thummph

  • OMG
    SNOW????????????????????
    I am not ready!
    Poor baby..
    yes, it is always darkest before the dawn.
    and yes you will get through.
    Things often pile up, and You just want to shout ” screw this!”
    and you know what?
    I often do.
    and feel really good for having done it!

    LOL
    Sending hugs…

    I took your advice and screamed, shouted, and bellowed ‘Screw This!” and felt much better. 🙂 Thank you dear friend *hugs*

  • OMG look at all that snow. I just mentioned to my daughter that we need to pick up a shovel for the steps and patio. I remember the days when my kids were tiny, shoveling snow into the wee hours and finally throwing the shovel into the snowbank and going inside in tears. It will all be ok and I’m sending hugs as well.

    Thank you so much…sweet thoughts and prayers from such as you is what I think really kept me going. *hugs*

  • Leave a Reply

