Bread Pudding Indeed

Published March 20, 2011 by missharleyquinn


A few weeks ago, Miss IMp and I visted a new establishment to Signal Mountain,  the restaurant Seventeen Ninety. We had an amazing lunch, followed by banana bread pudding.  I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of bananas, but this was amazing.  In retrospect, I’m fairly certain it was banana bread that was used as the main ingredient.  It certainly didn’t give an overly banana’ish smell or taste.  Needless to say, since then I’ve had bread pudding on the brain.

I was happily surprised to find one of my favorite blogs to visit, Angry Chicken , had a recipe for bread pudding this week.

“More With Saved Bread”

I figured it was a sign and not wanting to anger the bread pudding powers that be, I made some last evening.  I followed the recipe, substituting only 2 ingredients; brown sugar instead of cane sugar ( I am a fiend for brown sugar and will find any excuse to use it) and chocolate chips (semi- sweet) instead of berries.

I also added a Creme Anglaise sauce for the topping.  The Imps adore it, IMp #1 proclaiming it a keeper.

Kudos and a hearty vivat to Amy Karol for the bread pudding recipe.   🙂

Leave a Reply

