What Every Well Dressed IMp is Wearing

Published July 21, 2011 by missharleyquinn

Ever since she watched “Titanic” for the first time, my daughter has wanted a dressing gown.  She is my old school gal; prefers classic black and white films to the most recent blockbuster, loves skirts and trains over capris, and wishes she could wear an elegant gown for school instead of the uniform of kahki trousers and polo style blouse.  Her favorite actress is Elizabeth Taylor and thinks Sean Connery is about as handsome as handsome gets.

I used McCalls 6239 as a base for the dressing gown.  I altered the sleeves because she required long, flowing sleeves that make a fun ‘swooshy’ sound when you flap about and added a train to the back panel.  The original also looks like it ties on the side, but that is misleading, its actually a faux tie.  I changed that, adding an interior side tie and exterior side tie.

The fabric is a silk mix I found at The Bachman Community Center Thrift Shop for $10.00.  The fabric was originally used as drapes, but there was more than enough for this dressing gown.

*For my ghost hunting friends who look for orbs, there’s a nice one in the top left side. 🙂

*For my Pomeranian loving friends, there’s a Kate in the lower right hand corner.

3 comments on “What Every Well Dressed IMp is Wearing

    • Of course, you are one of my heroines; how could I not include you??? For me, this quote always brings you to mind:

      “Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow.”

      Thank you for beginning to blog once again! *hugs*

  • Leave a Reply

