Perspective

Published February 26, 2012 by missharleyquinn

 

About a month ago I started visiting a lady who lives at a near by nursing home.  I was a little anxious about it; would it be boring? Would I find myself creeped out by all the super-duper elderly people there, you know that feeling that the veil is as close as the nearest wheel chair bound 100 year old person? I’ve decided to embrace an attitude of accepting that there wil be things that scare me, there will be things that make me nervous, and those are pretty much the things I need to try at least once. So, I mustered up my courage and drove over there.  I couldn’t have been more wrong than if I was worried the denizens of the nursing home had tails and swam through the air to get to their rooms.

I was greeted by a trio of gals who were sitting at the end of the hall, a large picture window framing them, in what they call their front parlor.  I introduced myself and then we hit the ground running, talking and laughing like we had known eachother forever and a day.  I’ve been back every Thursday and coudn’t be more glad about that. I can’t  imagine a Thursday without Miss Dora and her posse.

This past Thursday was just her and I; we sat and talked about the weather, how much she likes grits and wished the kitchen at the nursing home made grits like her mom used to.  And then she said to me, “Every night we rush through dinner.”  I thought she meant because the food was so bad and asked about that. She smiled and nodded no, continuing…

                              “We all rush to the window, none of us want to miss the sunset.  It’s just so beautiful. Why would anyone not  take the time to be a part of such wonder?” 

I imagine them; by shuffle, by walker, and by wheels they race to the the window. To be a part of something bigger than themselves, something so beautiful and wonderful.  It gives me pause…Once more I am thankful for courage, for the desire to test the waters outside of my comfort zone, and be a part of something so much better and more beautiful than myself…I spend Thursday mornings with just about the wisest person I know.  Because it’s best to stop. Breath. Smile. And remember, life is beautiful.

2 comments on “Perspective

  • How did you find this opportunity to make a difference in the life of another?

    A local church I attend pairs shut-ins with members, it’s fairly casual in set-up. The visits are done at the pleasure of both people and are as frequent or infrequent as desired.

  • Oh, this touched my heart SO much this morning, I feel a little faklempt. How important it is to treasure the moments…the beauty…that are so easily taken for granted! I’m inspired to make sure I sit and enjoy the sunset this evening. Thank you for this 🙂 And I hope you are doing well!

    I’m well indeed and am warmed to know you found something helpful and good in these parts…xoxoxox

  • Leave a Reply

