The Lean, Day 1

Published June 26, 2012 by missharleyquinn

 

  I recently purchased “The Lean; A Revolutionary (and Simple!) 30-Day Plan for Healthy, Lasting Weight Loss” by Kathy Freston.  I bought it more for the  benefit of eating healthier, than weight loss…but if a few pounds wander away on their own I shan’t miss them. I like the format of the plan, just one small change a day that you do every day after, making it a habit…a good and hopefulyl long lasting habit.

Day 1: Drink water. Lots of water. (At this point, I hear Harold Hill saying this in the same tone and inflection as “Ya’ got trouble, lots and lots of trouble”…this is easily blamed on the fact that 5 days a week I’m in rehearsals for this play and hear this song a lot…’lots and lots’)

This is not as easy as it sounds, but is by no means difficult.  I’m supposed to drink 64 ounces of water each day, usually right before meals, but through out the day too.  This keeps me hydrated, keeps my kidneys doing what they do best, and also filling me up so as not to over eat…but that last one seems the least important of the reasons.

“Staying hydrated also keeps your body’s biological processes working at their fullest potential, and this includes your metabolism”

I like the way this sounds, although I’m fuzzy on the processes…does this mean all of them or most of them or just a few here and there.  Either way, day 1 is behind me and it went well…next up: Day 2 and eating a healthy breakfast.

One comment on “The Lean, Day 1

  • I’m loving my water these days. I too get in 64 ounces a day and it makes my brain work better as well as the rest of me. Keeps the plumbing in the house functioning well too – ha!

    I completely agree! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

